So ages ago now I attempted a nuno scarf. I had read up briefly on it but just wanted to fling myself into it…definitely a learning curve!

Nuno Scarf 1

This picture was my first ever attempt. I layed wool on both sides of muslin fabric, but I reckon 1 much thinner layer would have worked better, as this one doesn’t drape fantastically well.

I got spurred on by the clear possibilities so made another ‘scarf’ with the intention of just experimenting. This is how that turned out:

Nuno Scarf 2 - side 1

And the 2nd half (only 1 side of the fabris ic felted but I had to photo it in 2 halves):

Nuno Scarf 2 - side 2

And finally, you can see how it drapes much better thanks to much less wool being used:

Nuno Scarf 2

I loved experimenting with different shapes, thicknesses and directions of laying the fibres. Doing the seperate ‘sections’ really gave me a good insight into how merino acts when nuno felted onto cotton muslin. It’s also a scarf that I’ve actually worn and enjoyed wearing. My first attempt is far too stiff so will await its future reincarnation into another experiment!

