If you’re looking for the tutorial for these slippers (or these: https://fortheloveoffelt.wordpress.com/2010/02/14/more-wet-felted-slippers/) you can find it here: Slipper tutorial.

Back to the original post…

A while ago I posted that I’d made some wet felted slippers, well now I’ve taken the photos for you to see. I have also been asked by Sara of the Working with Felt community to provide a slipper tutorial for the next felting challenge on the site, and to judge the entries, which is something that I’m very excited about!

As you can see, I have added some extra fibres on the final layer to embellish. As said in the original post (which you can click on above), I used Wensleydale and silk tops for this and the ‘inner’ is merino whereas the ‘outers’ are finn.

Here are some photos and a picture of the first attempt (these were the 2nd) which as you can see were wearable but not a patch on the new ones ๐Ÿ™‚

Felted Slippers

Felted Slippers

Felted Slippers from above

Felted Slippers from above

Felted Slippers again

Felted Slippers again

Success and failure

Success and the learning curve

3 Felted slippers

3 Felted slippers

My first attempt (the orange one) failed for 2 main reasons:

1. The template I made, though following a tutorial, was far too small. This meant that I couldn’t felt the slippers well enough as they would have become too small for me in the process.

2. I didn’t use enough felt. I think they only had 4 layers whereas the second pair have 8 (and they are thicker).

I also used purely merino…as a result they started pilling hugely.

Heed that advice if you are going to try your own for the first time ๐Ÿ™‚

Next time I make slippers (probably for my Mum, although my boyfriend keeps asking for some too!) I will make boot style ones. This will be easy to do as you basically just extend a line between the feet parts of the template and felt them as one piece.

Once the tutorial is no longer in its draft format and is on the felting community I will also upload it here, so keep your eyes peeled.

